Disneyland Take 2

Two years ago we took the kids to Disneyland Paris. You can read about our trip here. Almost as soon as we were on our way home the kids decided that they wanted to go again. As much as I was pleased that they had obviously enjoyed themselves, it had taken a year of me working 2 jobs to pay for it! So we started a saving pot. The kids did their part by putting in any money they found on the floor (D loves finding money on the floor!) and hubby and I added money as and when we had any spare. We also set up a savings account through our online banking as unfortunately money found on the floor (or “road-kill” as it is sometimes known) wasn’t going to pay for the trip. 


We booked to go away in January again even though we knew it was going to be cold. We ended up going a week earlier than the equivalent time two years ago and it made a big difference. There were a lot of French families there which made me assume that maybe the French schools hadn’t quite gone back to school yet. This made a difference to queuing times. Last time we basically walked onto all the rides with little or no queuing. This time we were queuing from 10-60minutes depending on the ride. I know that in the grand scheme of queue times it isn’t much but when temperatures are close to freezing then it makes a lot of difference. 


We flew this time instead of taking the ferry and I was really surprised by how easy this was. We had transfers to the hotel and it really was very straightforward. Although be warned it takes longer than you think to get through the airport on the way home. By chance we caught an earlier transfer bus to the airport (3hours before our flight) and only made it to the gate 30minutes before the plane was about to leave. 


We stayed at the hotel Chayenne this time and to be honest I didn’t find it as good as the Santa Fe where we stayed last time. This one was a Wild West theme and although D thought it was great I wasn’t particularly impressed. 


Our room had two double beds and they were so uncomfortable I hardly slept. I was so tired by the end of the week I could have cried. This really took the enjoyment out of the holiday for me. I really was pleased to get home to sleep in my own bed. Little Lady was also really looking forward to sleeping in bunk beds again but was obviously disappointed. 


Again we saved money by taking our own food into the park for lunch and we planned tea time carefully making sure that we didn’t overspend our budget. We did have treats though including the most delicious waffle I’ve ever had and a doughnut the size of Little Lady’s head! There’s not much point to scrimping so much that you take the fun out of the holiday. 


The kids have already asked if we can go again and they are very keen to start another savings pot asap. D has asked if we can go to Legoland first and then Disneyland next year. I’m pretty sure we can find some deals for Legoland to go this summer but it may be another two years before we can afford Disneyland again. A friend suggested September as the queues are still short but it’s warmer. It would be nice to go when it’s not as cold. Pictures where I don’t look like a Michelin man would be good too. You can see how cold it is by the icicles in the picture below. This was in the afternoon too when the sun had been on them all day. 


Have you been to Disneyland Paris? When did you go? How did you find it?

7 thoughts on “Disneyland Take 2

  1. We’ve been three times. Once when Disneyland was 5 ( in August) and so was my son – he thought all the 5s everywhere were especially for him and he got a few free treats too – then we went back when the DD was 5 (in March during the Easter Hols) as that was only fair, but the 3rd time was a day trip when we were having an October Half Term break around Paris and the theme was Halloween…that was our favourite! Not only because of all the pumpkins and decorations everywhere but also because the kids were much bigger and could go off together and meet us back at a specific ride. They enjoyed the independence and we didn’t have to go on all the same rides. My DD is 22 this year and is now talking about going back herself! I don’t think you ever grow out of it.

      • It was a long time ago so I can barely remember! I know it was quite rainy in August but we had a warm crisp day in October. I can’t really remember the queuing times.

      • 12 and 15 I believe.

        It’s coming back to me now. When the kids were little (5 & 2) the first time we went, we did the staying on the site thing , but the second time when the kids were 8 & 5 we Eurocamped for 5 days and got the train to the park – only about 2 or 3 stops – which was an adventure in itself. It was cheaper even with a 2 day Disneyland pass. And somehow less stressful. Easter was very nice and the kids enjoyed the camping too.

  2. I’m not really a big Disney fan (or rather didn’t have the videos or see the films when I was little, so don’t really know many of the stories or characters) but we went for a day trip to Disneyland Paris when I was on my year abroad in Dijon at the age of 21 and LOVED IT! Sorry your hotel experience was a bit rubbish this time. Excellent work teaching the kids the value of money though and the fact that everything doesn’t just magic up out of thin air 🙂

Leave a Reply

