Sticks and stones

I like this blog to be a happy place. I like it to be a place that I can share good things. Unfortunately life isn’t all good things and I’ve had a pretty rough time lately. It’s meant I haven’t wanted to blog or even leave the house most days. My anxiety levels haven’t been this high since I had PND after having Little Lady.

I’m not going to go into detail as it’s not a place to air dirty laundry and like I said, I want this to be a happy place, but I do want to highlight how important words are. No one knows exactly what someone else is going through. I was at a low point when comments were made to me that sent my anxiety spiraling out of control. These comments were brushed aside with “oh he didn’t mean it”. But by then it was too late. The damage was done.

I have slowly been building up the confidence to start going out to places where other people will be. It’s been hard and I’m still not quite there, as evidenced this weekend when I went to a social event and had to leave early as it felt like the incident that started this was a joke to many people. They obviously have no idea of the effect it has had as if they did, I would hope they would not have made the many (public) jokey references to it as they did.

I was brought up being told “if you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all”. Kind words don’t cost anything and yet they can mean the world. Please always try to say kind words. Many people are going through private issues. If we all try to be kind to each other then the world would be a much nicer place. Words can make or break someone.

If you know someone who is currently going through a hard time why not send them a quick message? Let them know they are not alone. Your words can make a huge difference to someone’s life.

*Normal service to be resumed shortly I promise*

4 thoughts on “Sticks and stones

  1. Ugh (((HUGS))) lovely lady. I’m so sorry you’re going through this. Anxiety is a horrible, cruel thing to endure and because it’s ‘invisible’ people don’t understand how a ‘joke’ or seemingly harmless comment can cut right to the core. Well done for trying to get back on the horse though and you know, from past experience, this will get gradually easier moment by moment. You’re such a loving, kind person and you deserve that back.
    Sending love xx

  2. Oh sweetie, we all have times like this. I’ve been similar for a couple of months. Hubby has been having health issues and has been home since Sept…with no prospect of going back to work I the near future. I’ve hardly seen anyone else, cloistering myself away, which isn’t really good at all. I must, must, must try and get some Festive spirit going, or Christmas will be a washout!

Leave a Reply

