London Baby

Little Lady and I used to do everything together. Until she started school full time then it felt like we hardly spent time just the two of us. It was made worse (in a good way, obviously) that D came along just as she was going full time. I still had D to do things with, more so as he got older, but I missed the time with my girl.

We have made time over the years to do things together “just us girls” but they have been snatched afternoons, hours here and there. This holiday I decided to do something special just the two of us and so I booked us a Travelodge and the Megabus and took my girl to London. She had expressed interest in going last summer but we didn’t manage to go, so you can imagine how excited she was.

It’s fair to say she missed her brother while we were away. She talked about him constantly, wondering what the boys were doing, where they had been, asking me to take pictures of cranes to show him when we got back lol! But we had a fantastic time. It was so lovely spending time with her. I spent time with my little girl but also saw the little lady she is growing up to be. It was bittersweet, knowing that even though I am losing that little girl, she is growing into a fantastic big girl. Someone I am so proud to know.

We originally went with the idea of following the BFG Dream Jar trail after seeing the one in Cardiff but we were so disappointed by it that we gave it up and did some touristy things instead. Little Lady made a list of the things she would like to see and we tried to do as many as we could.

We stopped at the palace

IMG_3138

IMG_3125

Visited Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament

IMG_3167

We walked along the Thames

IMG_3168

Walked across Tower Bridge

IMG_3178

We also rode the London Eye, which turned out to be the best part of Little Lady’s trip.


She also enjoyed all the travelling on the Underground and the ride there and back on the Megabus as it was a double decker šŸ˜€

We had such a fantastic time. I’m so glad we took the time to do it and I really want to do it again. Maybe we’ll go back next year.

Have you ever been to London? What was your favourite part?

4 thoughts on “London Baby

  1. Because we live only a 20 minute train ride from the Capital, it’s been one of our things to do since my kids were little. Sometimes we would take the bus that took an hour and a half just so we could see the sights! You can do and see so much in London without spending any money at all! I still have days out with my Daughter but they tend to involve shopping these days!

      • Yes I can’t really imagine living far from London…it’s my town. My son and I quite often jump on a train to see what we can see at the theatre – that’s our thing. As long as you spend individual time with your kids I think it’s great.

  2. Pingback: Day Zero List Roundup | alifetimeofdiy

Leave a Reply

