Afternoon Tea

As I mentioned in my last post I treated my mum and my sister to afternoon tea last Monday. After the massive fuss I had trying to book it I really wasn’t looking forward to going but the others were so I had to suck it up. 

After my mishap at the gym, I had to call back home to redress myself before calling at my mum’s where they were waiting for me. 

My mum decided that she would prefer not to drive so gave me the keys to her car. My sister A and I then spent the 10 minute journey ignoring mam’s attempts at backseat driving! I did concede and parked in the street she asked me to which ironically turned out to be the wrong one πŸ˜‚ meaning we had a longer walk to the cafe. 

We arrived to find our table reserved for us with a tablecloth and place settings which none of the other tables had. They were extremely busy at that time with the lunch time rush and the poor waitress worked her butt off clearing tables and serving food/drinks. We ordered our drinks, which came and I was amazed at the size of my teapot.   

The photo just doesn’t do it justice. 

Then the food came. Oh my word!  

It filled the table! 

8 (I think) different types of sandwiches, 3 scones, 4 pieces of chocolate chip shortbread triangles, a bowl of salad, a bowl of crisps, a sundae glass each of jam and clotted cream for the scones, 3 cupcakes and 4 pieces of cake!

 
  
There was so much food that we brought quite a lot of it home.

 There was also a smaller box with some sandwiches and the shortbread in it. Needless to say hubby and the kids were very pleased to see me when I got home πŸ˜‚

Despite all the fuss I had trying to book it, the three of us had a lovely time and the food was fantastic. I would definitely go again. 

Have you ever had afternoon tea? What was it like?

9 thoughts on “Afternoon Tea

  1. That looks like a really nice afternoon tea! Plenty of cake!! I definitely need to go out for afternoon tea again soon, we went for a friends hen party once and it was awesome…. I feel an idea for this years birthday forming!!!

  2. Wow! This looks soooo nice! My mum often goes for afternoon tea around where she lives and I’m always impressed with the photos she shows me. I’ve not seen anything ever advertised for afternoon tea here in Alabama though 😦 I would love those sandwiches and cake!

  3. I went for tea at The Ritz for a significant birthday and it was a beautiful setting and lovely food, but a couple of weeks ago I went on the Afternoon Tea Bus Tour and the food on that was absolutely to die for! It’s a lovely thing to do, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

