Roald Dahl and McDonalds*

To be fair, I’m not a fan of McDonalds and so when I got the email through asking if I wanted to take part in this promotion I was all set to say “thanks, but no thanks”. Until that is I saw they were launching a literacy campaign using books by the author Roald Dahl. 

I loved Roald Dahl when I was a child and we are currently working our way through his collection with Little Lady who has really taken to his books. So I said yes. 

Hubby and I caught the train into Cardiff with the kids which they loved and had a cuppa in a coffee shop as we were a bit early. We then made our way up to the McDonalds on Queen Street and were shown upstairs by a member of staff. We were given a warm welcome and our lunch orders taken. There were other bloggers I recognised there and we chatted while we waited for the event to start. We were asked to sign consent forms to allow them to use photos of the kids (as long as they were over 5) for promotional reasons. Little Lady was so excited and loved having her photo taken with the cast after the show. 

The show itself was fab. It told of a grandfather reading the story of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory to his granddaughter.   

The story was full of actions and very colourful     The cast stuck around afterwards too for photos and both Little Lady and D were mesmerised by them.    

Each child was given a goodie bag which included the full set of books given away during the promotion, a Mr Twit beard and a Fantastic Mr Fox mask  

D also had a balloon which is always a winner!

The kids had a fabulous time and I was so glad I decided to say yes. 

*My family and I had a meal and all the items in goodie bag for free. Opinions, however are all my own. 

3 thoughts on “Roald Dahl and McDonalds*

  1. Risks Dhal mesmerised me as s child mad still does into adulthood. Beautifully sculpted characters that have an element of the Grotesque that children love.
    Well done to McD for doing something positive!
    Looks like you had a ball X

Leave a Reply

