Upcycled gift ideas

Day 2 of Zero Waste Week. How are we doing?

As I mentioned in my pledge post our christmas this year will be mostly handmade and/or upcycled. An easy enough concept but coming up with good ideas for gifts is actually pretty hard. As you can imagine I have spent a lot of time searching the internet (Pinterest is a favourite) looking for ideas. I can’t share actual gift shortlists here as I obviously want them to be a surprise but I can share with you some of my favourite upcycled gift ideas.

I have tried to chose gifts that use items that most of us have or can get easily enough. So here goes.

Rock plant labels. A perfect gift for the gardener of the familyHandmade garden labels

Homemade crayons for the Lego enthusiast – big or small 😉Lego crayons

Coat/key hooksDinosaur coat hooks

Dinosaur coat hooks from here but of course you could use anything to make hooks. Lego pieces, old keys, spoons, forks

Upcycled fork hooks

How about a cake stand made out of mismatched tea cups and plates? Upcycled cake stand

I love this idea and suspect that most of us will have a few mismatched cups and plates. I know I do. If not, why not have a browse around local charity shops?

So there we have a round up of my favourite upcycled gifts, however, both Jen Gale and Rae Strauss have lots more ideas for upcycling on Pinterest. So why not pop over to their boards and be inspired?

8 thoughts on “Upcycled gift ideas

  1. Some of those projects look fantastic – I’m particularly inspired by the teacups cake stand – now that would be an amazing gift! Love the garden rocks too; I’ve seen small ones made into ‘story stones’ for kids 🙂

  2. Oh, what a lovely postful of inspiration. I’d love the plant labels for the allotment – might have to have a go at some for myself for next season. I also really like the plate idea.

Leave a Reply

