RFL #3

This is my third year of doing Race For Life.   

I have written about both the 2013 and the 2014 RFL races and how different my training for them were. For my first RFL I followed the Couch 2 5k programme to be able to run the whole distance, while for the 2014 RFL I hardly trained at all as I was “running” it with Little Lady. 

This year I will be running with Little Lady again but our training has been different again. I was offered a Fitbug Orb* and free access to the Kiqplan Race For Life 5k plan* in order to help my RFL training.   

I have used the Fitbug Orb a lot to be fair but mostly as a pedometer. It does track sleep too but I find it very fiddly to first off switch it to sleep mode and then to switch it off sleep mode. I was also under the impression that the app sent all data to the kiqplan app but that doesn’t seem to be the case even though I have synced them. That makes it pretty time consuming manually transferring data from one to the other. 😦

The kiqplan app has a lot of good advice from nutrition to getting a good night’s sleep and the training plan is a good one for beginners. Personally I haven’t stuck to it religiously as Little Lady and I are doing a loose version of the Couch to 5k as she wants to run more of it this year.  I have been following the exercises part of it though and am enjoying that.  

 Kiqplan have a lot of different programmes so if 5k isn’t your thing then it is still worth having a look. My Fitbug will be getting a lot of use in the coming weeks too as I use it to try to keep my steps over 10k everyday in the school holidays. 
Look out for another RFL update soon as it’s not long til we run it. 😀

*I was sent the Fitbug Orb and given access to the Kiqplan 5k programme free for the purpose of a review. All opinions are my own and I wouldn’t recommend anything unless I truly liked it. 

One thought on “RFL #3

  1. Pingback: Race For Life 2015 | Me, hubby and the kids

Leave a Reply

