Lent 2015

Today sees the start of lent. Lent is traditionally seen as 40 days representing the 40 days Jesus spent in the desert. It starts on Ash Wednesday and ends on Easter Sunday. For those of you who have just done the calculation, yes that does work out as 46 days but traditionally Sundays were exempt (so 46 days minus the 6 Sundays).

Over the years I have given up a number of things for Lent. I have given up chocolate, fizzy pop, meat, and wearing jeans to name just a few. This year I have decided to do something different. Instead of giving something up I am planning on doing an act of kindness everyday for 40 days.

In the run up to today I have spent hours researching Random Acts of Kindness (RAOK) and amassed over 12 pages of ideas. While doing my research I was surprised at some of the items that were listed. Things like “Smile at a stranger” “Let people merge into your lane in traffic” and “Donate to a foodbank” There were a lot of items on the list that I do anyway and was surprised that they would need to be listed.

While I was surprised at the content of some of the lists it did teach me a lesson. I had in my mind that a RAOK had to be a big thing but actually it doesn’t. It can be as simple as making another person smile.:)

In recognition of this my first act of kindness was spending the day sending silly photos of myself and the kiddies to my sister who lives away. She has text me to tell me that the photos have made her smile all day so I guess I can take that as a win 🙂

Have you ever done a RAOK? Or been on the receiving end of one? If so what was it?

2 thoughts on “Lent 2015

Leave a Reply

