Running down Memory Lane

Hubby and I used to live in Greater Manchester. It seems like a lifetime ago now so when we went to visit my in laws after Christmas, I decided to pack my running kit and go for a run down memory lane.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/a7b/37358441/files/2015/01/img_0712.jpg
Dawn broke on the 20min drive from the travelodge and the car display told me it was -2*C. Brr!! I drove to the lake where hubby and I first met all those years ago, parked up and set off running.

The lake itself hasn’t changed but the pathway around it is in much better condition that it was.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/a7b/37358441/files/2015/01/img_0717-1.jpg
The views are still as amazing as I remember although the cafe was shut – how rude! Although understandable I suppose at that time of the morning!

2015/01/img_0729.jpg
There was snow on the ground and it was so cold there was black ice in patches every now and again meaning that the run itself was very slow and careful. I ran to the back of the lake, to the centre where I was taught to sail. I knew the centre had since closed but it was so sad to see it boarded up

2015/01/img_0722.jpg
It was such a big part of our lives for so long and now it seems forgotten, abandoned šŸ˜„ so sad.

I finished my run, almost missing the lovely views as I tried to concentrate on not falling over.

2015/01/img_0723.jpg

2015/01/img_0726.jpg

2015/01/img_0737.jpg
I got back to the car and as I tried to stop the run app on my phone I realised that somehow it had paused itself half way round! Meaning I only had records for half the run and also the picture map looks as though I can run/walk on water!!

2015/01/img_0740.png
Maybe it’s time I invested in a GPS watch or something. I don’t know.

4 thoughts on “Running down Memory Lane

  1. How lovely to run round your lake with so many memories! Love the picture of the pink dawn reflected in the water. That is very annoying of your app – but also very funny to record you running across the lake! Hope you had a lovely Christmas! x

  2. What a lovely run! I had one like that when I went home šŸ™‚ It’s always nice running down memory lane šŸ™‚ You can get a fairly basic GPS watch (w/o heart rate) for about Ā£100 these days!

Leave a Reply

