Cardiff Half Marathon

Well I have neglected my poor blog haven’t I? I’ve got a lot to tell you about though so I had best set some time to one side in order to get the posts I want to write, done!

Anyway first off I want to tell you what I did last Sunday. I can’t keep my excitement in. I ran a half marathon. Yep, that’s right, 13.1miles! I can’t believe I actually did it! I was so nervous in the run up to the race. I’d actually trained properly for this. Not the half hearted attempts I usually do. What would happen if I can’t finish? What if I completely mess up the race? All sorts of things were going around in my head and I was absolutely bricking it!!

I had to drive into Cardiff by myself as hubby was bringing the kids in later on the train. I managed to park in the park and walk facility they had set up so that was simple enough. I went in early to make sure I got a space and the mile (or so) I walked into town was done in very little light.

IMG_0031-0.JPG
I took my bag to the bag drop and met some lovely ladies from the fantastic Run Mummy Run Facebook page. We queued for the start and sang the national anthem before counting down to the start. As the hooter went, we were going no where! The amount of people in front of us meant it took over 9minutes to actually cross the start line. (It’s actually around the corner in this picture)

IMG_0035.JPG
Once we did cross the line, the crowd thinned enough to give me enough room to start running. Mile after mile ticked by and I was in such a positive headspace, which is quite unusual for me. I just kept repeating one of my favourite bible verses – “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” (Phillipians 4:13) and it kept me going. I knew I could do it and that thought kept me smiling throughout. I am still surprised at how positive I was. Usually I tend to convince myself I can’t do it so this was new to me!

I had to stop for a wee but thankfully I stopped at some public conveniences rather than the portaloos provided as the queue for those were at least 20mins!!

I started to struggle around the 10,11 mile mark as I was getting tired then. I hadn’t tried gels or anything in training so all I had was fruit pastilles which were fine and the organisers had an energy drink station around that point which really helped (even though I had to ask someone to open it for me!!). The mile between 11-12 felt about 5miles long. It seemed never ending but the crowd kept me going. The crowd was fantastic, all the way around! If you ever get a chance to watch a road race please go to support the runners. It means so much having strangers urging you to keep going. Seeing some friends who had come to cheer me really boosted me too and although I did walk the very last hill, I did manage a sprint finish. Mainly because I was so glad to see the finish line!!

Crossing the finish line I was handed a medal, bottle of water, t shirt, banana, can of non alcoholic beer and a goodie bag. I was a bit confused by why it couldn’t all go in the goodie bag and why they expected us to carry it all when I could barely carry myself!! I burst into tears as soon as I met up with hubby and the kids. The emotion was overwhelming! But I was so pleased that I did it and I raised quite a bit of money for my charity Velindre Cancer Centre while doing it.

IMG_0054.JPG
Would I do it again? A very big resounding YES! Well I do have a PB of 2:37:50 to beat now don’t I? Sub 2:30 here I come 😉

12 thoughts on “Cardiff Half Marathon

      • If you’ve never run one before it’s hard to gauge how you’ll go. I found exactly the same with my half, that bit between 10-12 miles is horrendous! Now you have the experience you can work on those bits… However, no matter how hard I try those 2 miles always feel longer than 2! x

  1. Well done! I know what you mean about feeling emotional when you finished, you just can’t quite believe that your body did it.

  2. Pingback: Succeeding to fail?? | alifetimeofdiy

  3. Pingback: Cardiff Half Marathon 2015 | alifetimeofdiy

  4. Pingback: IAAF World Championships | alifetimeofdiy

Leave a Reply

