Made It Monday #11

I knew the run of MIM posts was too good to be true!! 😊 Anyway we’ll skip past that and I’ll show you what I’ve made recently as though the missed posts never happened! Lol!

As you know from recent posts, the first week of September was Zero Waste Week. The theme was One More Thing and as I wrote here I learnt quite a bit about how small changes can make a big difference.

I have slowly been looking at different parts of my day to see if there is anything I can change and one area is the washing up. We buy big bottles of washing up liquid and decant into a smaller bottle. It’s not ideal but I don’t know anywhere local to me that will refill my Ecover bottle.

After a chat on twitter’s #makedoandmendhour (Thursdays 8-9pm – check it out) I decided to have a go at crocheting my own dish cloths. We usually use the sponge things. We do put them through the wash to prolong their life but after a while they do need throwing out.

IMG_3725.JPG
I found this pattern on Pinterest and it was a lovely easy pattern that I managed to do while little lady was at her dance class! I used a cotton yarn (cotton wool doesn’t sound right does it?) which means that it’ll dry quickly. I chose this colour only because I already had this ball and I was too lazy thought it was more environmentally friendly(!) to use up what I had. Although someone has since pointed out that it won’t show up stains as easily, which is quite a good point for a dish cloth!

IMG_3724.JPG
What have you made this week?

3 thoughts on “Made It Monday #11

  1. Your dishcloth looks great : ) I have read about people knitting their own, and if I knew how to knit or crochet I’d probably do it too. Sadly I can’t. What I do instead – not as attractive but equally eco-friendly – is cut up old clothes ( t shirts, jeans etc) and use them. Work just as well!

Leave a Reply

