Zero Waste Week – They think it’s all over

Well here it is. Zero Waste Week is over. How have we got on? What have we learnt?

Well I have to admit my pledge didn’t exactly go to plan. D chose last week to come down with “man flu” (he has a cold!) Potty training took a back seat as it is nigh on impossible to get a toddler who is feeling sorry for himself, to do anything you want them to do. So we are still using nappies. On the upside, we are using less nappies as D does enjoy siting on the toilet. Getting him to give me a bit of warning is the hard part! So we are still trying. We have given him a bit of a break and will get back to it after his nursery days this week.

So, not quite gone to plan. However, I have learnt a lot this week and there are quite a few things I have incorporated into our daily lives already. The first thing I learnt was that our local council will take TetraPak cartons in our brown (recycling) bin. I have always been told that they couldn’t be recycled. But they can. We drink quite a bit of fruit juice (I know, I should really squeeze my own) so that’s a big saving from our green (general waste) bin. Why not check out the link to see if your council will recycle them too?

I have also discovered that you can get reusable swim nappies. Now this is fab for us as D and I have just started parent and toddler swimming lessons. I hope to buy some next week to cut down on the disposable ones we currently use.

Apart from all the new things I learnt from found Zero Waste Week, there was quite a bit I realised that I do already. We have already shunned plastic carrier bags on favour of cloth ones when we go shopping and we use EcoBalls in place of washing powder in the washing machine.

Did you take part in Zero Waste Week? What one thing could you do today to reduce the waste you send to landfill?

One thought on “Zero Waste Week – They think it’s all over

  1. Pingback: Zero Waste Week 2015 | Me, hubby and the kids

Leave a Reply

