Zero Waste Week

Zero waste week is fast approaching. Now in it’s 7th year it is running from 1-7th September. In previous years, the concept of going completely zero waste was insurmountable for me. With 2 small children and a full time job, I just couldn’t see how I would do it. This year’s theme, however, is “One More Thing” so one more thing you can save from landfill. That is something I can do. By cutting down on one thing I can make a difference. And it’s not just me. If all of us stop one thing from going to landfill then we can make a huge collective difference.

When I signed up for zero waste week I was asked to make a pledge and submit a selfie. Haha! You won’t believe how many pictures I made hubby take of me and I’m still not happy with the photo!! I am on my way to run club and standing by the kitchen door! I wonder if there are any tips online on how not to look like an idiot in a selfie?? Anyway…..here’s my pledge

IMG_3481.JPG
I think I look a lot like my dad in this photo!

To my shame we have always used disposable nappies with both little lady and D. It’s the main reason zero waste has been such a foreign concept to me. We probably put out a green (waste) bin that is only half to 3/4 full every fortnight so I don’t think we do too badly. But nappies are our downfall.

D is 2yrs 9months old now so is plenty old enough for potty training. Maybe a bit too old, I’m not sure. Little lady was definitely potty trained by this age but we have been concentrating so much on his speech problems that to be honest, I hadn’t realised that we should start potty training šŸ˜•

So, pants and floor cloths at the ready. We start potty training now.

Please check out the Zero Waste website for more details on zero waste week. What would your pledge be?

2 thoughts on “Zero Waste Week

  1. Pingback: Zero Waste Week – Day 1 | alifetimeofdiy

  2. Pingback: Zero Waste Week 2015 | Me, hubby and the kids

Leave a Reply

