To Give or Not To Give

I’m in a bit of a quandary. One of the items on my day zero list was to give someone a bunch of flowers for no reason. Yesterday I kind of did. But I’m not sure whether it counts as the flowers were *ahem* second hand. Bear with me while I explain….

At church we all take turns to buy the flowers that go on the table in front of the pulpit. Yesterday was my turn. I bought a lovely bunch of tulips and took them to church. As I was putting them in a vase, one of the older ladies told me how much she liked them.

As I was about to put them on the table, one of the church elders told me I could them home afterwards as there was communion during the evening service so the flowers would only be moved out of the way for the communion to go on the table.

They were lovely flowers but as i knew Pearl had admired them, I offered them to her. She was a bit flustered as she was afraid I felt obliged, but I told her she would have more enjoyment out of them than I would. I would only have to put them out of the way of D anyway!

She was really pleased and couldn’t thank me enough as she took them at the end of the service.

So technically I gave someone flowers for no reason but I hadn’t actually bought them for that reason.

Do you see my quandary?
Does it count or not?

What do you guys think?

4 thoughts on “To Give or Not To Give

  1. Pfft – absolutely it does count – you could have simply taken them yourself, but you didn’t – you stopped, thought, and did A Nice Thing. xxx

  2. Pingback: Day Zero List Roundup | alifetimeofdiy

Leave a Reply

