Craft room progress

We have been very busy here lately. I’m excited to say its because we have been decluttering. Oh my deary me, you won’t believe the amount of stuff I have sorted through!! We have started in the attic in a bid to make some space in order to move other stuff (like my craft things) up into the attic.

I mentioned here that I would like a craft space in the attic. I would ideally like space for a table for my sewing machine, and storage for all my bits and bobs. However, I have sooooo much stuff it’s unbelievable. I’m not sure if I have shown you this picture before but I actually find it embarrassing that I have so much stuff.

20140122-150501.jpg
That is only my fabric stash. That doesn’t include all the other bits and pieces I have ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

Hubby and I have spent 2 full days up in the attic together and hubby has spent an extra day on his own up there, and it is starting to come together nicely. I have thrown away anything that has no use, bagged up some crafty things for little lady’s school, donated items to the charity shop, given fabric to friends and made a pile of unusable scraps that can be used as stuffing. I was physically and emotionally exhausted!

But!! Most of my bits and pieces are organised into drawers,

20140122-151112.jpg
My table is up and it is much cleaner, lighter and brighter than before.

20140122-151224.jpg
My fabric has been sorted through but I still need to organise it.

20140122-151554.jpg
It’s not quite there yet but it is getting there and I am so excited! It’s not the spacious, light filled studio I always imagined but it’s mine, it’s big enough and I will take that! Hubby is planning to rearrange the lighting and run an extension lead for power. I also plan to ask for daylight lamps/bulbs for my birthday to make sure the light is adequate.

I am so excited by this you can’t believe. And the fabric I have rediscovered is amazing! I can’t wait to get up there and get stuck in! ๐Ÿ˜€

7 thoughts on “Craft room progress

    • Too much really. I just can’t bear to part with it ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
      Love the idea of a “crafting kasbah” the posters were going to be thrown out and hubby saved them. It was the quickest and easiest way of making the attic usable

Leave a Reply

