Cup-cakes

Before I start I have to mention that this is take two of this post as the first time I wrote it somehow it was deleted rather than published. I am now over the annoyance enough to attempt a second draft. All I will say is that the first draft was FANTASTIC 😉

This weekend in our church it is Harvest Festival. A joyous time of spending time together as a fellowship at the harvest supper and thanking God for what we have.

As part of my new job I am in charge of running the midweek youth club. This week I wanted to tie in to the harvest theme. I was thinking along the lines of bringing in the harvest, gathering the wheat and of course the flour which is subsequently made from the wheat. I thought about making bread but we only have an hour so that was a non-starter. I thought then about cakes but the oven we have at the chapel is past its best and has a weird combination of buttons that need pressing in order for it to work. A combination I might add, that I do not know 😦

After a bit of a mental block I tried a search on the internet for puzzles and/or colouring pictures that may be useful for the little ones on a Sunday. While looking I somehow, (and don’t ask me how as I still can’t find the link that took me from one page to the next) stumbled upon this recipe. A literal cup-cake if you will. A chocolate cake that cooks in 4 minutes and leaves only 3 things to wash up (the mug, the measuring spoon and the spoon you use to eat it). What’s not to like?

I tried it at home, for research purposes only you understand, and it wasn’t bad. It tasted like cake, which is always a plus side. It wasn’t the most delicious cake in the world but I refer you back to the point I just made about the cooking time and the washing up!

20130927-203426.jpg
It went down a storm at youth club. They loved it, mainly because they got to use the microwave I think!

At this point I will say that it is important to use a big mug. If you don’t you will end up cleaning your microwave. We only have small mugs at the chapel so the youth worked in pairs and shared the mixture between 2 mugs. This worked well. Plus I had found that the cake was a little dry towards the middle (nothing a bit of custard wouldn’t have solved) so having less cake wasn’t necessarily a bad thing either. All the cake was eaten, the youth went home happy and I was left with the mess

20130927-203917.jpg
Typical 😉

Leave a Reply

