Getting somewhere

Wow! It’s been over a year since I mentioned the fireplace last. You can read the first two posts here and here if you missed them the first time around. I’m sure you are all dying to know what’s happened to the fireplace in the last 12 months aren’t you??

First off hubby made the hole bigger. If you remember the hole wasn’t central to the breast so that was rectified. Then he boarded it out. Here it is looking festive (ish) at Christmas.

20130707-090627.jpg
Then it pretty much stayed like that til last month. I was getting pretty fed up with hubby promising to fill the hole at the bottom and plaster it all and then not doing it so I took matters into my own hands. (No I didn’t do it myself I’m afraid!)

20130707-091232.jpg
The house across the road is being completely renovated, so last month, after being challenged to Just Do It – finish a project that has been lingering for a while – I went over and asked the plasterer working there to come and give me a quote.

The quote was reasonable so the following week he came and plastered the fireplace.

20130707-091156.jpg
At the moment we are waiting for the plaster to dry so that we can paint it and put the fire surround back. I have to say its looking pretty good and now it’s starting to dry the plaster almost matches the colour of the paint already there!!

20130707-091532.jpg
Exciting times. I’m hoping to do a proper “ta-da” post by the end of the month. I can’t wait 🙂

One thought on “Getting somewhere

  1. Pingback: Progress | alifetimeofdiy

Leave a Reply

