In a jam

This last birthday I was very spoilt. Not only did I get 4 fruit trees in the post

20130426-155937.jpg
I was also lucky enough to be on the receiving end of a new-to-me jam maker.

20130426-160036.jpg
I have been eyeing up this gadget for about 2 years but have always decided against getting one due to the cost. However, my lovely hubby found a reasonably priced, hardly used, second hand one and snapped it up. All without telling me….naughty boy keeping secrets….but we’ll let him off this time.
This week hubby has worked a lot of late shifts meaning I have a bit of time to myself after the little people are in bed. This meant jam making time!!!! I have to admit it was a bit of a faff chopping up all the strawberries but once that was done it was so easy. Look at it all bubbling away

20130426-160427.jpg
Excellent. While that was bubbling nicely I suddenly remembered how we had recycled all those jars I had been keeping ‘just in case’ Argh!! So the hotchpotch of jars I did manage to find (two branston pickle jars and 4 little blackberry jelly jars) went in the oven to be sterilised.

20130426-160610.jpg
The tricky bit I have always found is checking the setting point. This was a much easier job with the jam maker as it beeps when it’s ready! Yay! Still need to check the setting point though.

20130426-160723.jpg
Ooh not quite! Back in for another 5 minutes and bingo!

20130426-160803.jpg
Lovely jars full of homemade jam. Okay so I spilled a lot trying to get it in the jars. I have pondered (loudly and repeatedly) to hubby that maybe I need a funnel to make the bottling (jar-ing??) less messy. Lets hope he gets the hint (tee hee!). Now only one thing left to do (apart from tidying up but we’ll skip over that bit)

20130426-161025.jpg
Try it of course.

And I am very happy to report that the toast was very well received by the little people. Apparently, I am also told that two of the little jars jumped into Mamgu’s bag when she came to visit. I must keep a better eye on them next time she comes to visit 😉

One thought on “In a jam

  1. Pingback: Waste | alifetimeofdiy

Leave a Reply

