Crafting and decluttering

Sorry I’ve been missing in action for a while. It’s not that I’ve been doing nothing. Just the opposite in fact. We have embarked on a decluttering mission here at a lifetime of DIY.

20130210-094217.jpg
We have sent boxes to the charity shop, passed things onto friends and family and sold other bits and pieces.

While our house is looking marginally tidier and slightly less cluttered (still a long way to go) it has highlighted the true extent of my craft stash. I am honestly surprised by the amount of fabric, paper, notions, haberdashery I have. Some of it I don’t even remember buying, I have *that* much!

20130210-094435.jpg
If we are to declutter properly then my craft stash needs to be reduced. So that’s my new mission for 2013 – to reduce my craft stash. I can do this in 2 ways:
1) Sell or donate items
2) Use it!
Personally I think I will end up doing both. While it will declutter my stash by selling and/or giving it away, I love crafting and so using it (and possibly selling the finished items) will be enjoyable for me if not a bit slower.

20130210-095353.jpg
By my own rules, I can now only bring down supplies for 2 projects at a time. This will keep clutter in the front room down and also ensure that I don’t start too many projects and end up overwhelmed.

Some of the projects made already under the “craft declutter” mission are shown throughout this post. Matching leg warmers for my little lady and Angelina Ballerina; some cards; and 2 giant pompoms – one each for lady and baby D.

I will endeavour to post photos of other projects as and when I complete them so do pop back from time to time to see what I’ve been up to. Hope you like my creations.

20130210-095407.jpg

4 thoughts on “Crafting and decluttering

  1. Pingback: Giant pompoms | alifetimeofdiy

  2. Pingback: Pattern sale | alifetimeofdiy

Leave a Reply

