Rag Wreath

So it’s December and we are officially on the countdown to Christmas. We’ll skip over the fact that I’ve been counting down since….ooh well since about the summer!! Following on from my last post I am going to show you how to make this:

Rag wreath

I’m sure you’ve all guessed that it’s a rag wreath.

They are really easy to make they just takes time. And I think mine looks stunning. Yes I’m biased as I made it but I think it looks fab hanging on the back of our door. It is kind of a shame that we live on a main road and I can’t hang it on the front door but at least this way I get to see it all the time. Here’s how to make your own.

*Please note that the pictures showing how to make it were taken after this one was finished so the pictures show different fabrics. Hope you don’t mind my disorganisation.*

First off you’ll need a circle.

Wire circle

I bought this one but you can easily make one out of a wire coat hanger or similar.

Chose your fabric (this may be the hardest part) and cut out your strips. Hubby worked out that I needed just over 450 strips of this size to fill the wreath and that’s a LOT of cutting out.

Fabric strips

Once you have all your strips cut out, start tying them to the circle in whatever pattern you want. I put all my strips in a bowl and pulled them out randomly but it’s up to you.

Tied to circle

Keep going til you fill the circle. Hint: the more strips you tie the fuller the wreath looks so keep squashing them up and adding a few more when you get to the end of a section.

Once complete tie a ribbon to the top and make a loop big enough to hang the wreath. Hang your wreath and stand back to admire it.

Rag wreath

Simple when you know how isn’t it?

5 thoughts on “Rag Wreath

  1. Hiya….Im new to Twitter,but love your Rag Wreath….I am thinking of making some for Xmas pressies….so can you please let me know where you bought the ring…????
    Yes I know ….thinking of Xmas already…but pennies are sparce…so have to.
    Thanks in advance..
    Kim x

    • Thank you. I didn’t use pinking shears as I like the rustic look a bit of fraying gives. However, once it’s hanged, it won’t really be played with so shouldn’t fray too much. I suppose it depends on personal preference. I’d love to see yours when you make it x

Leave a Reply

