Making what you need

This was a topic covered by the lovely Jenni over at A Cheerful Living Adventure. She talked about making things you would otherwise buy and thought it would be nice to share with you the things that I have made.

Today I would like to talk underwear. Ooh err! I feel slightly embarrassed already.

Underwear as the name suggests is worn (by me anyway!) under the clothes and is therefore not regularly seen by your average joe public (unless you are a builder or a plumber in which case it may be in the job description πŸ˜‰ ). So why spend a lot of money on something that is only going to be seen by:

  • yourself,
  • (possibly) your immediate family and
  • (God forbid) the emergency services (in which case you probably won’t be in a state to care)

So why then do some places think they can charge the earth for a decent set of underwear?

And by “decent” I mean knickers that cover your bum.

However, mass production’s version of “knickers that cover your bum” mainly consist of so-called “granny knickers” and having only just slid kicking and screaming into my *shhh* 30’s I am not quite ready to go down that road just yet.

If I can’t have a nice, comfortable, reasonably priced set of underwear then I will make my own. Which I did.

Want to see??

underwear

This was my actually my second attempt at making a bra. The first attempt fitted but was a bit more “sensible”.

These were also made using the same pattern although they look much bigger due to the colour of the fabric.

IMG_0563

Okay they look massive. I’m not actually that big in that area. Am I???*scurries off to check rear end in the mirror*

What have you made recently?

6 thoughts on “Making what you need

    • Thank you. Yes I did follow a pattern. This bra was an Γ©lan pattern no 645. It was fairly simple to follow although sewing the underwire casing was the hardest part. I’d love to see pictures if you make one yourself.

  1. I’m gobsmacked – you actually made your own bra!!! The undies look fab too, well done! I agree about there not being enough knickers to cover one’s ‘largest asset’ 😦

  2. Well, they are just utterly GORGEOUS, I am SO impressed! So impressed. When I started reading your post I was imagining you were going to say you made them out of an old t shirt or something, but no! They’re fabulous! Someone kindly gave me an underwear pattern actually, I really must dig it out and make some! xx

    • Thank you for popping by.
      They are not made out of an old t-shirt as you can see. Hope that didn’t disappoint you πŸ˜‰ Although you could make the knickers out of a t shirt if you liked, as you would get the slight stretch that you need. Possibly not as pretty as lace though.
      As to the pattern you were given I’m pretty sure it was this one (if I remember rightly πŸ˜‰ )
      Nicky

Leave a Reply

